# LOCHABER HOUSING ASSOCIATION LTD MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD ON THURSDAY 25<sup>TH</sup> AUGUST 2022 BY ZOOM.

Members Present	Tina MacLugash, Di Alexander, Jenni Hodgson, Ken Johnstone, May Tosh, Rosemary Bridge, Andrew Carr, Linda Johnson, John Cooney, Moira MacVicar, Cathy Osborn, Maggie MacKenzie,
	,
In Attendance	Kevin Booth, Margaret Moynihan, Maureen Cameron,
	Jenny Mackay, Siobhan Toal, David Smith, George Doran

#### **Welcome and Introductions**

Chair, Andrew Carr, welcomed members to the Association's 34<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting, this being the third meeting held digitally.

# 1 Apologies for Absence

The Customer Services Officer informed the meeting that apologies had been received from the following members:

Anne Davies, Elizabeth Silver, Hugh Donaldson, Catriona Hunter, Jacob Green and Jacqui Wight.

## 2 Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 13th September 2021

The Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of 13th September 2021 were **approved** by Rosemary Bridge and Jenni Hodgson.

#### 3 Chairperson's Review 2021/22

Chairperson, Andrew Carr presented his review of the year, highlighting:

- The pandemic meant the re-introduction of lockdown; staff isolating due to the virus; and the restricted access to tenant's homes all once again affected our repairs programme which led to a build-up of non-emergency repairs and planned maintenance.
- Delays in accessing materials and increasing prices has impacted on our developments, but through partnership with Communities Housing Trust we have developments in Spean Bridge, Strontian and Caol due to complete in 2022/23.

- Towards the end of 2021/22 the LHA Group staff participated in our tri-annual satisfaction survey, results of this can be seen throughout our Tenant Talk. Focus groups throughout Lochaber have been undertaken to follow up on the points raised.
- Our committees have continued to meet remotely. We continue to selfassess our compliance with the Regulatory Standards of Governance and Financial Management and have again received compliant status from the Scottish Housing Regulator.
- The Association is working in partnership with ALIenergy through Lochaber Affordable Warmth Scheme to support tenants and provide financial assistance to those most in need.

In closing the Chair thanked his colleagues on the Board. He also acknowledged with gratitude colleagues at the Scottish Government, the Highland Council and the Communities Housing Trust for the support and assistance given to the Association. The Chair paid tribute to the hard work, dedication and commitment from the Management Team and staff of LHA Group.

#### 4 Auditor's Report 2021/22

The Chair introduced Kevin Booth of Alexander Sloan.

He confirmed the following:

- a) It was the Board of Management's responsibility to ensure that proper accounts were prepared and that these accounts were provided to the members of the Association.
- b) It was the job of auditors to review these accounts and give an opinion to the members on whether the financial statements gave a true and fair view.

He confirmed that the financial statements had been properly prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting practice.

He also confirmed that the Association kept proper books and records during the year and there were no matters of significance that the auditors would like to draw to the attention of members.

## 5 Appointment of Auditor

The Chief Executive advised that, in 2020, Alexander Sloan had been reappointed as the Associations Auditors on a three-year basis. It was recommended that Alexander Sloan be re-appointed as the Associations Auditors for the financial year 2022/23.

This was unanimously agreed.

## 6 Election of Board of Management

The Customer Services Manager introduced this item.

The current Board of Management comprises 11 members and no co-optee's. The maximum number of Board members under our rules is 15. Under the rules, three are due to retire. These are Di Alexander, Jenni Hodgson and Jacqui Wight.

In addition, since the last AGM, the Board has appointed Linda Johnson, Jacob Greem, John Cooney and Cathy Osborn to the Board to fill casual vacancies under rules 41 and 42 and these members are also standing for election.

All the retiring members have indicated that they wished to continue to serve, Linda Johnson, Jacob Green, John Cooney and Cathy Osborn have all indicated they would like to stand as full members. With no further nominations, there are, therefore, a total of 7 members of the Association standing for election or re-election.

As there are fewer nominations than vacancies, all nominees were elected without the need for a vote.

The new Board for 2021/22 will, therefore, be comprised of 11 members:

• Di Alexander, Andrew Carr, Jenni Hodgson, May Tosh, Jacqui Wight, Rosemary Bridge, Moira MacVicar, Linda Johnson, Jacob Green, John Cooney and Cathy Osborn.

The Board will elect its Chairperson and other Office Bearers at the next Board of Management meeting.

#### **Close of Meeting**

Shortly before 6.30pm, the meeting was closed by the Chair, who thanked everyone for their attendance.