# LOCHABER HOUSING ASSOCIATION LTD MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD ON THURSDAY 24<sup>TH</sup> AUGUST 2023 AT HIGHLAND CINEMA, CAMERON SQUARE, FORT WILLIAM.

Members Present	Tina MacLugash, Di Alexander, Ken Johnstone, May Tosh, Rosemary Bridge, Andrew Carr, John Cooney, Moira MacVicar, Cathy Osborn, Maggie MacKenzie, Stewart Leitch.
In Attendance	Phillip Morrice, Margaret Moynihan, Maureen Cameron,
	Jenny Mackay, Siobhan Toal, David Smith, George Doran,
	Sean Doherty, Iain MacLeod, Fiona Sorley, Elinor Taggart,
	Cllr Sarah Fanet, Cllr Kate Willis, Karen MacKay, Angus
	Lawrie, Frazer Coupland, Robert McCover, Nigel Patterson,
	Alistair Nicolson, Scott Donald, Andy Knight, Che Scott,
	Mark Linfield, Robert Coull, Kenneth MacDonald.

### **Welcome and Introductions**

Chair, Andrew Carr, welcomed members to the Association's 35<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting, this being the first AGM held in person since 2019. Before the formal business began, the Chair introduced and welcomed our guest speakers Fiona Sorley, Construction Development Co-ordinator for Communities Housing Trust and Elinor Tagart, Director of Property Development for C~urb.

At the conclusion of the presentations the Chief Executive, Margaret Moynihan proposed a vote of thanks to Elinor Tagart from C-urb Property Developments and Fiona Sorley from Communities Housing Trust for providing updates on projects currently under development in Lochaber which demonstrate the differing scales of the projects but with common land condition problems to overcome. The Chief Executive also thanked TSL Contractors who sponsored the event including the buffet and refreshments which followed the business of the AGM.

# 1 Apologies for Absence

The Customer Services Officer informed the meeting that apologies had been received from the following members:

David MacLaren, Ann Davis, Anthony Meres, Linda Johnson, Jean Sinclair, Sheena Coull, Jenni Hodgson, and David Cottier.

# 2 Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 25th August 2022

The Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of 25<sup>th</sup> August 2023 were **approved** by Di Alexander and John Cooney.

# 3 Chairperson's Review 2022/23

Chairperson, Andrew Carr presented his review of the year, highlighting:

- Through continued partnership with Communities Housing Trust, the Association have in total now developed 103 rented units and 16 New Supply Shared Equity. This includes in 2022/23, 20 rented properties at Spean Bridge, 6 New Supply Shared Equity Units at Lochyside and 2 rented properties at Strontian. Construction has commenced at Kings Way, Mallaig which will deliver 8 units in phase 1. Our continuous development helps to support the strategic partnerships we have with the Scottish Government and The Highland Council in achieving the Governments ambitious targets for affordable housing.
- Link Group are currently on site in Upper Achintore with the initial phase of 82 units well underway for completion in spring 2024. The Association is providing Clerk of Works services for this development and when it is completed will provide management and maintenance services for the rented properties.
- The associations performance for our repairs service remains strong with all emergency repairs being completed in an average of 2.39 hours and non-emergency repairs averaging 4.1 days for completion.
- The Associations Board has welcomed two new Board Members in the last year, with another joining since the financial year end. The Association have the necessary frameworks and resources in place to enable our Board to continue to function digitally and remotely.
- The Association continues to self-assess our compliance with the Regulatory Standards of Governance and Financial Management. This allows the Board to provide an Annual Assurance Statement to the Scottish Housing Regulator. The Association has also continued to have a compliant status which demonstrates that the Regulator are reassured that we are meeting all standards.
- The Association was successful in obtaining a sum of £192,000 from the Social Housing Fuel Support Fund which has enabled us to work alongside partners ALIenergy through the Lochaber Affordable Warmth Scheme to help provide fuel vouchers, direct financial assistance, and energy efficient products to tenants in need. We also had a successful application in obtaining funds

from the Winter Hardship Fund to help tenants facing food insecurities.

 Throughout the year the Association has paid tribute to founding member Monsignor Wynne by placing memorial benches in both Roy Bridge and Arisaig.

In closing the Chair thanked his colleagues on the Board. He also acknowledged with gratitude colleagues at the Scottish Government, the Highland Council and the Communities Housing Trust for the support and assistance given to the Association. The Chair paid tribute to the hard work, dedication and commitment from the Management Team and staff of LHA Group.

# 4 Auditor's Report 2022/23

The Chair introduced Phillip Morrice of Alexander Sloan.

He confirmed the following:

- a) It was the Board of Management's responsibility to ensure that proper accounts were prepared and that these accounts were provided to the members of the Association.
- b) It was the job of auditors to review these accounts and give an opinion to the members on whether the financial statements gave a true and fair view.

He confirmed that the financial statements had been properly prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting practice.

He also confirmed that the Association kept proper books and records during the year and there were no matters of significance that the auditors would like to draw to the attention of members.

# 5 Appointment of Auditor

The Chief Executive advised that, in 2020, Alexander Sloan had been reappointed as the Associations Auditors on a three-year basis with the possibility to extend for a further 2 year period. It was recommended that Alexander Sloan be re-appointed as the Associations Auditors for the financial year 2023/24.

This was unanimously agreed.

# 6 Election of Board of Management

The Customer Services Manager introduced this item.

The current Board of Management comprises 10 members with one co-optee. The maximum number of Board members under our rules is 15. Under the rules, three are due to retire. These are Andrew Carr, Rosemary Bridge and May Tosh.

In addition, since the last AGM, the Board has appointed Stewart Leitch to the Board to fill a casual vacancy under rules 41 and 42 and this member is also standing for election.

All the retiring members have indicated that they wished to continue to serve, and co-optee Stewart Leitch has indicated he would like to stand as a full member. With no further nominations, there are, therefore, a total of 4 members of the Association standing for election or re-election.

As there are fewer nominations than vacancies, all nominees were elected without the need for a vote.

The new Board for 2023/24 will, therefore, be comprised of 11 members:

• Di Alexander, Andrew Carr, Jenni Hodgson, May Tosh, Rosemary Bridge, Moira MacVicar, Jacob Green, John Cooney, Cathy Osborn, Sarah Fanet and Stewart Leitch.

The Board will elect its Chairperson and other Office Bearers at the next Board of Management meeting.

### **Close of Meeting**

Shortly after 5pm, the meeting was closed by the Chair, who thanked everyone for their attendance.